Why cupcakes?

Why the sudden “obsession” with cupcakes some have asked?   
The truth is- I don’t really know!  They’re small and somehow  
easier to think about making than a cake or pie, they induce less guilt after eating and somehow seem less “bad” :), they are easy to experiment on and if you mess up- well who cares? just toss it.  It is a little strange, since I am NOT a good cook, I have zero patience for baking since it requires you to be fairly meticulous about measuring and following directions (which I get bored with really easily), it requires time- which I am usually complaining I never have enough of and I have ZERO artistic/creative ability or inclinations or talent or whatever you want to call it.  When I say zero, it’s because negative-zero isn’t really a number!  BUT- I decided I wanted to do something different- pick a “project” or hobby and really invest the time and energy into it and see how it goes.  So far, I’ve spent a few afternoons playing with various basic baking/decorating books/techniques/ideas and last weekend I took a cupcake class- by myself- and it was actually really fun!  Although my tendency after about 10 minutes is to start substituting and guess-timating and speeding up, I’ve promised myself I’m going to really try to stick to the recipes and amounts and directions and give this thing a shot before I say it’s not for me.  It’s actually been a really good tool for making me slow down, think, go slow, concentrate on things and keep track/learn from my mistakes and have something at the end that I like or at least can give away to a kid who doesn’t care what it looks like, b/c honestly- who doesn’t like cupcakes?  If I found someone who didn’t I think I would automatically be suspicious of them.
I did spend a few minutes/hours/days debating whether or not I wanted to “pick a hobby” that involves sugar/flour/butter/eggs/oil/icing- basically all the things I try to avoid by eating/staying healthy.  Do I want to promote sugary treats (and constantly tempt myself to eat the whole bowl of batter) as a “hobby”?  Do I want to spend time and money on something that is “unhealthy” when being healthy is important to me?  But after thinking about it a while, I realized that I also have ALWAYS been totally against any type of diet/lifestyle/plan that requires you to complete avoid/deny/give things up, basically b/c they never work and denial always gives way to binging in the end……and because I really do believe in a “life in balance” – hence the coffee, and cupcakes AND running…and faith (in reverse order)….so: CUPCAKES it is! 🙂

Chocolate pumpkin cupcakes with pumpkin cream cheese frosting……

 

 

4 thoughts on “Why cupcakes?

  1. allthingsnew October 10, 2010 / 9:40 pm

    Ummm…did you make those cupcakes? Cause if you did, then I'm going to be coming to visit a lot sooner than I hoped to 🙂 I really miss you a lot…I love you!Steph

  2. Robyn October 10, 2010 / 10:35 pm

    Wow!!! Loved this!!! Those cupcakes look soooooo yummy!!! I'm so proud to be your sister. 🙂

  3. mandy October 10, 2010 / 11:58 pm

    I love that you are balanced in your approach to healthy living. It makes you that much more fun to be around! I'm looking forward to joining you in this adventure. I don't claim any baking talent, but I can grow you some great ingredients and flowers to decorate with!

  4. themccann5 October 11, 2010 / 2:57 am

    I want the chocolate with pumpkin cheesecake icing when I come!! AND I want you to teach me how to be more patient! 😉

Leave a Reply

