What’s the Point?

I read this on the Women of Faith newsletter the other day and copied into a word document b/c I wanted to be able to read it again….I could have written it actually- word for word.  I’m always struck by how we feel like what we are feeling/going through is so unique and different and no one could possibly understand how we feel….and then we talk to someone or read something (like this) that tells us “No- you’re not so different or alone after all”!

What’s The Point?
I want a reason to get up in the morning. When I ask God for a sense of personal destiny, and then listen carefully, I get a sense of direction. Not always, and not always immediately, but I rely on God’s promise to consistently guide me toward fulfilling the purpose for which he created me.

I know that nothing any of us experiences is pointless or useless. The good, the bad, the ugly, even the things we think will kill us—God uses it all, and he devises our destiny out of the stuff in our trash. He sifts it out, shows us the value, and then uses us to help others because of it.

When we look at the desires of our hearts in light of reality, we know none of them is achievable all the time. They’re changeable, like the weather. Some days we’re content; others we’re not. There are places in the world we feel completely at home, others less so. There are even days when we wonder if we have a purpose at all, and the uncertainty lingers for a while. But our desires give shape and substance to our unique essences. And when we pray out of the depth of those desires, our faith is strengthened and our fellowship with the Lord is sweeter
— Luci Swindoll

I love that line: “he devises the destiny out of the stuff in our trash”!  So true and so humbling and should make me stop and THINK every time I complain, am discontent, am feeling sorry for myself etc etc etc.    It goes along with something my new favorite teacher- Tim Keller (I won’t take the time here to give my usual glowing recommendation to listen to anything you can find by him b/c I think I’ve already told most of you!)…anyway- I was listening to his sermon on “The Two Tests” (again won’t go into it here, could write a whole post on it!) but he was talking about good times/success and bad times/struggles and said something along the lines of this (don’t quote me):   We are all going to have struggles and pain and hard times and stress- it’s just a fact of life.  But if we are Christians, we can know that God will take advantage of those times (that again, we will all have- we live in the world where things aren’t perfect) to teach us and build us and strengthen us through them…..I sort of picture me sitting down on the ground crying and despairing over a dropped grocery bag at the end of a very long day- with broken eggs and spilled milk and rolling vegetables and crushed flowers and God saying well…you’re right- the carpet is ruined and those pants will have to be thrown away- but look- here’s this amazing omelette you can have for dinner and – wait who’s at the door- oh it’s a friend stopping by to say hello who hasn’t had dinner yet……

Anyway- might not make perfect sense to anyone else- I feel like translation from my brain to my fingers/mouth sometimes is lacking, but for me…I’m learning lessons about learning lessons these days…..

Thoughts?  Do you REALLY believe that NOTHING we experience is useless/pointless? 

No cupcakes today- plenty of coffee though 🙂

2 thoughts on “What’s the Point?

  1. themccann5 October 15, 2010 / 5:51 pm

    Couldn't have said it better myself. It's weird how we're going through so much of the same things, just different situations! Keep blogging–I love it!!

  2. allthingsnew October 19, 2010 / 8:23 am

    Hey…where can I download a Tim Keller podcast? I checked on the Redeemer Pres website, but I don't know how to tell which ones are his.

Leave a Reply

