Dawn is Love?

  So I’ve been thinking a lot about love these days for many different reasons.  All different kinds of love and of course 1 Cor 13 “The Love Chapter” comes to mind and I was reading it in several different translations the other day, including The Message- part of which I’ve included below.  I always think of the pre-marriage counseling Pete and I did when I come across this chapter, b/c as one of the exercises, our pastor asked us then to read through that chapter and substitute our  names for the word “love” each time it appears.  (Wonder if others of you Mark married had you do the same thing?).  Well that really struck me at the time, but over the years I sort of “forgot” to really take that to heart and was just really struck by it again reading it earlier this week. 
So- the challenge/question for the day is:  Can you substitute your name for the word “love” in these words?  All of them? Any of them?  I don’t mean only romantic/spouse love, but all/any love- love for friends, family, kids, co-workers, less fortunate, strangers…..I REALLY want to say I can substitute my name for at least ONE of them. I don’t think I can just yet.  It seems like a REALLY good season though to start trying…..

   Love never gives up.
   Love cares more for others than for self.
   Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
   Love doesn’t strut,
   Doesn’t have a swelled head,
   Doesn’t force itself on others,
   Isn’t always “me first,”
   Doesn’t fly off the handle,
   Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
   Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
   Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
   Puts up with anything,
   Trusts God always,
   Always looks for the best,
   Never looks back,
   But keeps going to the end.

1 Cor 13- parts of v3-7 (The Message)

4 thoughts on “Dawn is Love?

  1. themccann5 December 9, 2010 / 12:15 am

    WOW what a challenge! and yes, as I read through that list and realized I may not fit even one of those, I am stuck by how sad that is. I am so preoccupied with everything "else" that I've forgotten the important stuff! Thanks for holding me accountable!

  2. themccann5 December 9, 2010 / 12:15 am

    oh yeah, I forgot to say…. I MISS YOU!!

  3. Renee December 9, 2010 / 12:26 am

    Renee' is NOT love I am sad to say. However, I could put my husband's name in most of them! Lord help me to become love!

  4. Robyn December 9, 2010 / 12:47 am

    Ouch. 

Leave a Reply

