Two Things

Haven’t posted in a while…many reasons- not really going to go into them now.

I’m doing a little experiment- it came to me while I was doing something I love to do this morning.  If you’d like to participate in my little experiment I’d love to have you join me.  I can’t promise it will be worth your time, but I THINK it will be.  That’s sort of the point of it- to see if what I THINK is going to happen really happens (to see if my “hypothesis” is true :).  It won’t require anything from you except a little time, but even that I think will be worth it to you…we’ll see.

So- if you’d like to play along here’s what you have to do first:

Think of two things that you love to do.  It could be pretty much anything, but in general the types of things I’m thinking of should do at least some of the following:
-make you feel energized afterwards
-make you wonder when you get to do “it” again
-make you feel like you are doing what you were made to do, or what you were gifted to do or created to do (for most of you/us this will have a spiritual dimension but even if it doesn’t for you I think the idea will be the same)
-makes you a “better” person- i.e. happier, more patient, more kind, more loving etc.
-makes you a more positive person
-you have had a chance to introduce it to someone else or use it to encourage someone else- whether that’s bc the actual thing helps others, or helps you better help others or some other variation of this
-you NEVER regret doing “it” afterwards
-you often regret NOT doing “it” afterwards
-other people may or may not have told you you are “good” or gifted at it

There is no limit to the possible things your two things could be- nothing too big, small, silly, good, frivolous, important or crazy.  A few examples might be gardening, teaching, reading, doing surgery, volunteering at a particular place, dancing, swimming, praying, sewing, singing, watching the history channel, baking etc etc etc.   The only rule is that it fulfills some of the things I’ve listed above.

Just to get you started/thinking I’ll tell you my two things:
-running
-writing

Ok- so now here’s what you do.  If you want to tell me your two things- please do!  You can  email me and I’ll keep it private, you can email me and cc whomever else you want to know, or you can leave a comment here with your two things.  I hope some people will choose to do this, b/c I love the interaction and creativity and encouragement you can get from blogs where people “participate” by writing back, but no pressure for anyone that doesn’t want to share.  You can even just privately think of your two things and never even tell me you are going to “play”.

So- think of your two things, tell me (or someone) or don’t, and then keep watching.  I’ll send out another email next Sunday night (just to give everyone time to read this, think and respond) with instructions from there.  I promise it won’t take much of your time, at worst it won’t do anything for you, and at most it might be really cool?!

8 thoughts on “Two Things

  1. Benjamin Button May 22, 2011 / 4:16 am

    I'm in. I gotta think a while….only two? I have around 12!

  2. Dawn May 22, 2011 / 4:30 am

    yep-only two for now to test the theory

  3. robyn brand May 22, 2011 / 9:15 am

    Hugging/kissing/singing to/fill in the blank JR, and exercising. There are definitely more….you'll think this is funny, but doing a nice circumcision is high on the list…

  4. themccann5 May 22, 2011 / 3:55 pm

    Yeah! I love your challenges! I've actually been thinking of posting something along these same lines, but of course never actually get around to doing it. At the beginning of this year, I began asking myself, "What is my purpose? What can I be doing this year, to make a difference?". And one word kept coming to my mind, kindness. It seems kind of simple and easy, but is it really?? So, my new year's resolution or goal for this year was to not only be kind to those I love, but all the time, to people I might not necessarily "love", and even when I don't want to. ;). And, five months into it, I find myself daily asking, "What can I do today?". It's kind of exciting! (silly I know to some of you). So, this new year's goal for myself has turned into a little more, now it is more about showing unexpected acts of kindness and unconditional giving, whether that be money, time, an ear to someone who just needs to be heard, and in some cases, this giving of my FULL self, has been a VERY humbling experience. But, the joy and happiness I get from seeing the look on someone's face that totally did not expect me to be kind to them or give (whatever it is I gave)-is addicting!! I find myself asking, "okay God, what do You have planned today?". I never once have regretted this new practice, and even though I may end up completely broke (in terms of money) by the end of the year, I have become SO much richer! (is that even a word). Riches that I'll carry with me for the rest of my life! So my two "things"– unexpected acts of kindness and unconditional giving."But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, Kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control." Galatians 5:22-23

  5. Anonymous May 23, 2011 / 6:08 am

    Reading my daily devotion from the book you sent me. It is definitely making me a better person. Also I would have to say loving on Isabella or teaching her something new is what makes me feel like I have a REAL purpose for being on this earth. šŸ™‚

  6. Ashley May 23, 2011 / 9:41 pm

    I also have many, but if I had to just pick two, they would be yoga and listening to/watching live music. Have found #1 very easy to bring to Iraq, but not so much with #2…!

  7. Becky Garfinkle June 3, 2011 / 5:12 pm

    1. Being a mother- this is what I think my purpose is, what brings me joy, and what I think I'm really good at.2. Spending quality time with friends- having long, meaningful conversations, short catch ups, just being surrounded by people who have touched my life and whose lives I've touched.

Leave a Reply

