Imagery

Two months since I last signed on.  No guilt ๐Ÿ™‚  I have been thinking alot about why I don’t write more.  There wasn’t much response from the last posts about how it felt to do those two things that make you feel “strong” every day, purposely and how that made your life different, or how it didn’t I guess.  I really came out of that time thinking how much happier and productive and forgiving and positive I am when I run, read, write and listen to music regularly.  And still, somehow, they are the first things to go when I am busy.  It does not make sense.  Anyway, thinking about that led me to thinking about what I want to write about, and I don’t really have time but….I’m choosing to do this first ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been thinking alot these days about imagery- how thinking about, or visualizing things can really affect your life- for better or worse, depending on what you are “visualizing”.  In the last two months, I’ve had three separate experiences of intentionally visualizing things that have made an amazingly big difference in my life- lasting difference.  Two I won’t share, mostly b/c it would take a REALLY long time to even try to explain and even then, it would be hard.  And some things you can’t really put into words, you know? Like trying to do so might somehow lessen the experience in the first place.  But- this last one (which was really the first one) I can share, at least a little.

For the last couple of years, I’ve really really been wanting a tattoo.  I know, lots of different thoughts on that, but there it is.  I have really thought and thought and had a hard time coming up with what I wanted and never really found the right thing.  Then when I was on a little vacation by myself a couple of months ago, everything just sort of fell into place and I knew what I wanted.  For the last year or so, which has been somewhat of a difficult one, I’ve had many many amazing friends/family encouragers, whom I could never thank enough.  Can’t even try.  But looking back through my journals over time, I started seeing this pattern from three of my biggest encouragers: with Dad/Renee- everything always came back to “faith”, with April, everything always came back to “hope”, and with Robyn, everything always came back to “love”.  It was really weird how consistent the pattern was once I was looking at it.  I’ve written a blog in the past about 1 Cor 13 and as I was reading through this chapter again on my vacation, I got to verse 13 (1 Cor 13:13) and I read this:
” And now these three remain: faith, hope and love, but the greatest of these is love”. 

And then I knew just what I wanted.  A tattoo to remind me of this verse and how it has sort of come to represent what is most important to me.  It works in several different ways,that I won’t even try to explain but I started sketching out a little picture in my mind of a flower with some petals falling away, with three flowers representing faith, hope and love that “remained” on the stem, and one petal (love) a little bigger than the rest.  Then, I found a tattoo artist from Florida who had just the right amount of passion about his work- and whose name was “Gator” but I didn’t let that deter me- and I sat down and closed my eyes and before I knew it it was over.   I can’t say that most people who look at it would necessarily get the meaning, but for me, there isn’t a day or time that I look at it that I am not glad I did it. 

So I’m interested in how imagery has played a role in others’ lives- for good or bad? Do you have regular images that you think of, or try not to think of? Does it help you?  Are there particular images that you can’t explain to others that have special meaning for you?  I’d love to hear!

5 thoughts on “Imagery

  1. allthingsnew October 9, 2011 / 11:16 pm

    Love it! Thanks for sharing this…your foot is going to be an image in my mind now! Glad it's a cute one ๐Ÿ™‚ I love you!

  2. About Wiltshire October 10, 2011 / 6:55 am

    I followed the same path as you Dawn. After a long period of difficulty in my life, I constantly turned to one of my fav songs as a kid "His Eye is on the Sparrow" and constantly referred to Matt. 11:29. This reminded me that He always saw me, He knew me; when I felt my prayers just drifted into oblivion. So that image has helped me for years, it is my adopted symbol. That's why, I too, after years of wanting a tattoo but never knowing what, finally decided on the sparrow. Now not a day goes by that I don't remember that he watches me ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Dawn October 12, 2011 / 7:58 pm

    Thanks you two- great to hear from you! I love the sparrow image Brooke- thanks for sharing!

  4. Benjamin Button October 14, 2011 / 12:10 am

    I have used imaging many times to get me through some tough spots. Lately, I've done lots of very long bike rides and there is a point where you begin to get so tired that everything gets "fuzzy." I have imaged that I was in a boat pedaling over the water, rather than the asphalt. Yes, I do whale sightings. When I have insomnia, I image a baseball game in which I am the pitcher. I throw to one batter who fouls every pitch off, over and over. I can smell the pocket of the baseball glove, feel the wind on my face, hear the crowd every time the batter hits one of those fouls. Then, I wake up and its morning! (maybe).

Leave a Reply

