Just Do It

They say when you are feeling overwhelmed and stuck in “planning” mode and spinning your wheels….just do SOMEthing- anything to get going.  I, the perpetual “planner” decided to try out this concept and well, it seems to be working for me (sort of).

In the past 4 months I have:
-Finally taken steps toward a passion I’ve had for a log time- to get involved with Girls on the Run- if you don’t know them, you should check  it out: http://www.girlsontherun.org/
-Joined a running group when I knew NO ONE (a very uncomfortable thing for me in the past).
-Made some huge decisions about work and my future that have released mountains of weight from my shoulders.
-Decided to concentrate this year on doing everthing w/ more “intention” (my New Years “word” in leiu of a “resolution”)
-started training for a marathon
-started writing a book
-decided I CAN make enough money to live by doing something I love (still working on the details of that one 🙂 )
-begun to concentrate less on “fixing” people (my patients, myself, family, friends, others) and more on dealing with the present
-read at least one magazine or book a week
-faced some subjects/facts I’ve been hiding from for a while
-learned- and really put into practice- saying “NO” and not feeling guilty about that
-asked for forgiveness more often
-concentrated holding my tongue (or pen, or typing fingers) when I want to fire off a response
-started to conciously eliminate and simplify my life- literally and figuratively
-concentrated on intentional gratefulness
-“messed” up with myself and others, more times than I can count

In the process, I have:
– met some AMAZING people
– learned some very interesting things about myself
– come to peace (of sorts) with the “not-knowing” at times (ok, still working on this one, but there are minutes of peace)
– learned to live with and not focus entirely on some unclear medical issues
– been encouarged in the most unique ways
– seen some really cool places/things
– learned some very interesting things about others, and what is most motivating to them
– learned that I really really am in control of one thing only- how I will respond to a situation (See: Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl)
– learned that you really can’t feel gratefulness/thankfulness and resentment/uncontent at the same time b/c one of them will win out
– learned what I am most passionate about- what makes me feel most like I am doing what I was created to do:  encouraging others, running, encouraging others to run, sharing/educating/helping others understand and/or deal with (pediatric topics, medical topics, exercise-related topics, personal growth topics)

By no means am I am expert in any of these things, nor am I always perfect, happy, rational, kind, consistent, content, grateful or encouarging.  But I am trying.  And I am quite certain I am on the track to a stronger life.  I am most days excited to wake up and think about the things I get to do that day that will put me further along the path to a simpler, more meaningful life and for the opportunities I have that day to interact with others on this journey.

So- reading back over this, I feel a little like Jerry Maguire in that I might fire this off and immediately regret it, b/c it’s a little to personal, too out there, too informative…but really I decided to Just Do It.  To get blogging again, to connect with anyone out there who may have thoughts or experience to share, or maybe to encourage someone else.  Just Do It.

I’d love to hear your thoughts- how have you taken steps to “Just Do It” in your life? What is “it”?  How have you followed passions,maybe even with an unclear road ahead? Where has that led you??

Dreaming Dawn (that’s my Girls on the Run name- thought it was sort of appropriate here 🙂

5 thoughts on “Just Do It

  1. Anonymous April 19, 2012 / 6:20 pm

    i love it!!!! and thank you. i have had an eye opening/awaking moment earlier this year as well and ready to move forward in whatever steps/paths that means. so, i thank you for your humanity. i too have had a passion for girls on the run and running a marathon. the days never are right….so doing and going for it is now. it is difficult to make time for those things that really are so very important that don't seem to be and difficult to reroute one's brain (at least mine). i am encouraged and this makes me miss you more and want to hug you and jump up and down and share. that may sound silly or confusing…but over all i feel blessed to know you, read this, and be encouraged and inspired. love you…..amber

  2. Dawn April 19, 2012 / 6:31 pm

    Amber- I adore you! Message me more anytime…would love to talk to you about following your passions. If only I could make a "living" doing that….b/c it is MY new passion!

  3. Alexa Martin April 19, 2012 / 7:46 pm

    Dawn… I spent several very uncomfortable hours the other day trying not to "respond" to a situation. Old me would have sent a long email expressing everything I have ever felt or thought. Old me would have sent a snarky passive aggresive text message. Insteaad, I sat with the discomfort. It was hard. It was not graceful. But I am determined to see this as progress.

  4. Anonymous April 19, 2012 / 11:13 pm

    Dawn, Your words resonate with me so. Thank you for the courage to share them. You are so correct that bitterness, resentment, unforgiveness always seem to trump a loving heart wide open…you can't have both. Those demons will get a stranglehold and control all aspects of your life. Truly learning to forgive is a process but so critical to a joyous life. Your blog brings joy to me. Thank you, Leslie

  5. Dawn April 20, 2012 / 11:14 am

    Alexa- YES that is EXACTLY what I'm talking about! It is SOOOOO hard, but so nice not to have that "oh man, maybe I shouldn't have sent/said/written that" feeling for days/weeks afterwards…I am choosing, with you, to believe that is a sign of progress for me..maybe even maturity?And Leslie-thank you SO much for your words…I know that they were not learned easily but then, the best and longest-lasting lessons, the ones that come to define us and help us become who we are, never are, are they?I am SO incredibly grateful to have met both of you lovely inspiring ladies who are following your passions and quite obviously doing just what you were called to do! I am honored to be running along with you both 🙂

Leave a Reply

