If You’re Alive, You’re “Running”

Good (Monday) Morning!

I find myself writing in the dark these days- literally. I feel more free and less bothered by all the voices in my mind that tell me NOT to write, in the early morning or late night hours. So, it’s dark now and there’s coffee involved, but it will be light soon (yah for spring/summer in the Pac NW).

Since starting this journey (mostly in my mind and heart so far, although I’m gettting bolder) towards deciding what I’m passionate about and what turn the road of life is going to take next, I’ve had the honor, exitement, confirmation and encouragement of meeting many other people on the same journey. I’ve realized that encouraging others is sometimes important (and life-changing) beyond words and so am once again feeling confirmation that I am on the right track.

So, here’s the deal. I have a full-time job that (most of the time) I really enjoy and am somewhat fulfilled by (at times). I have enough family, friends, extracurricular activities, work and book piles to keep me busy for the rest of my life. But, I’ve decided I want something more, different. I’m not necessarily giving up any of the above (yet πŸ™‚ ) but I’m also making room for starting to follow after that “more”. And, since I’ve been incredibly encouraged in the most unexpected ways by expected and unexpected people- I’m inviting anyone along who’d like to come with me.

I don’t yet quite know what this “more” is going to look like, which is part exciting, part scary. Mostly exciting. I know what I’m passionate about- not necessarily an expert in mind you- but I love:
– encouraging others
– educating others
– babies πŸ™‚
– running
– encouraging and motivating others to run
– encouraging/educating parents
– reading
– writing
– teaching whole-body approach wellness to kids (girls)
– supporting small businesses and people following their dreams
– organizing things

There are many more, but these consistently make the top of the list so for now, I’m staying with those- actively searching them out, thinking and reading about them, concentrating on them more, watching my feelings/thoughts/reactions towards them more.

So, if you:
– have the time (and/or interest- b/c really who has time these days?)
– feel similarly
– would like to encourage others (including me and anyone else reading along)
– have ideas
– or just want to follow along

then I’d love for you to “run” along with me on this road. I don’t know where it’s going, or what’s around the next bend even (other than my first marathon in 6 days!!) but I’d love some company on the trail!

So, tell me- anyone know what I’m talking about? How have you followed a new road? How have you followed new passions while still committed to the life you are in? How could I use the things I’m passionate about to help YOU?

7 thoughts on “If You’re Alive, You’re “Running”

  1. thenatteringnelson April 30, 2012 / 7:21 pm

    They had seen strange things enough through that Doorway. But it was stranger than any of them to look round and find themselves in warm daylight, the blue sky above them, flowers at their feet, and laughter in Aslan’s eyes.
    He turned swiftly round, crouched lower, lashed himself with his tail and shot away like a golden arrow.
    “Come further in! Come further up!” he shouted over his shoulder.
    -The Last Battle, C.S. Lewis

    • cupsrunningover May 1, 2012 / 6:39 am

      Laura Lee- can you come over for coffee tomorrow morning? Please? Oh how I love this and it was PERFECT! Just what I needed to hear! 2012 is the year we must meet πŸ™‚

  2. Cristin Mount May 1, 2012 / 6:48 am

    Dawn – I really want to think hard (introspectively) about what you’ve said – please keep me accountable to you for an answer! Don’t know when that will happen but I certainly have plenty of time to think and more than enough need to pull back from going 100mph all the time and answer some of these questions myself! Maybe in Utah – away from work and stress and dogs and injectable hormones -people who don’t know me are going to get the WRONG impression by that statement πŸ™‚ – I can determine how to best join you!

    • cupsrunningover May 1, 2012 / 7:04 am

      Cristin! You’ve already been one of my biggest encouragers just by being you πŸ™‚ I love that you love to learn from people- whether it’s cooking, taking pictures, planning things, putting an outfit together, getting excited about going to a conference or just acting interested in what others are interested in…you are the type of learner I want to be. Embracing what I don’t know and learning from those who do know and are willing to share, and then passing that along…We will discuss further by a pool, in the sun, somewhere soon!

  3. April May 1, 2012 / 4:41 pm

    LOVE

Leave a Reply

