Life Words

It really is true: Words (your words, my words) can bring “Life” and “death”.

 

For the past week I have been thinking about the Power of words.  It started from some conversations and some things I was reading and then on Saturday, in the middle of a run, someone (a daily speaker of “life words” to others) said, sort of casually with a couple of other people around, “When you leave Dawn you always leave wanting more Dawn”. 

Now, I don’t write this for everyone to say “it’s true” or “how sweet” or anything else like that- I write it to say this:  Those words spoke Life to me in that moment.  Because the truth is, for the past few weeks, I’ve not really been wanting to spend more time with myself.  In fact, I’ve been more and more aware of all the little things I do that are not very “attractive” and all the thoughts and feelings I fight with alot of days- “ugly” things like envy, bitterness, frustration, judgement, short-temperedness, self-righteousness, impatience…the list goes on and on.  I know, I know, we all feel those things ( I think?) but I had been really noticing/convicted by them and been speaking some negative/”death” words to myself.  But- that comment turned me around and made me see the power of words, whether we speak them to ourselves or we speak them to others.

Since Saturday, I have had multiple conversations and experiences that have cemented this concept into my head, and have had some very motivating, inspriring conversations that have served to really drive the points home:

What we say- to ourselves and others- really does matter. 

 What we allow into our lives- what (and who) we seek out and fill our minds, times and energy with can either discourage or inspire us.

There is always room for growth.

So, this one is short, because I want to hear from you- really I do- I’m looking for some specific examples.  What are some times people have spoken life (or death) to you?  Who was it?  How did it change your life?  When have you seen the results of speaking life or death words to someone else?

Speak, friends 🙂

7 thoughts on “Life Words

  1. dowford June 5, 2012 / 7:39 pm

    Great post! What you say, what we hear has profound impact and sometimes you’re never aware of it.

    • cupsrunningover June 6, 2012 / 7:28 am

      that’s the cool part and the scary part! we may NEVER know!

  2. Karrie June 5, 2012 / 11:31 pm

    Thank you Dawn for sharing what sometimes we do (indirectly) or don’t want to say but are thinking. I am going to share this with my beautiful sister who needs these words and have not been able to get them out to her properly. Thank you Dawn for being just exactly who you are! xoxo

    • cupsrunningover June 6, 2012 / 7:30 am

      Karrie! I am honored you would share with your sister- definitely send her the link! There are so many people who are helping me realize all these things so tell her to come on over and get some encouragment and inspiration! You give people life words all the time (and not just “the house is yours”)- ha. See you soon!

  3. April June 5, 2012 / 11:34 pm

    When I thought about this, one specific instance came to mind. Everything I ever learned about being a mother, I learned from watching my sister, Robyn. I was AMAZED at what an unbelievably awesome mother she was!! I soaked up all the advice she gave me and constantly asked myself, “What would Robyn do?” 😉 But, as most mothers do, I constantly doubted myself and whether or not I was “good enough”. Then one day, Robyn and I were talking, sharing, and she told me how she wished she was more like me sometimes (as a mother). I can’t remember her exact words or what it pertained to, but I remember thinking, “Me??!! Why?? I mess up SO much!” Anyway, those few words spoke LIFE into my heart and I realized at that moment, that as mothers we all doubt our abilities and we sometimes feel inadequate, it’s okay!! I’ve tried to remember this when I’m loving on other mamas and remind myself that we ALL need encouragement! Not a list of how do things “right” or that the rules for raising a child are black and white. We’re all just struggling to do the best we can, and sometimes looking into another mama’s face and saying, “You are an amazing mother!”, may just change their LIFE!

    • cupsrunningover June 6, 2012 / 7:31 am

      This is exactly the kind of thing I’m talking about- so many times we don’t know or we just say things off-handedly almost without thought and it can change someone’s day, month, life- thanks for sharing!! Love you. And you are BOTH amazing mothers!

Leave a Reply

