Food for Thought (WW #3 and #4)

WW #3 was tough.  Not for any one specific reason, but it was just one of those tough days- we all have them.  At some point during that 24 hours, I was hungry, thirsty, tired, bored, uncomfortable, annoyed, stressed (for myself and for others), hopeless, frustrated, annoyed (again), unsure, anxious and did I say hungry.  I was “hungry” for food, drink, peace, assurance, a hot shower (not allowed), absence of stress, work or responsibility, strength, wisdom, assurance, health, stability.

I realized during that day, that when I have those “tough” days, moments, situations- there are a lot of things I typically do to “feel better”.  Things like eat, drink, shop, cry, take a bath, revert, do mean things, get impatient, become overly sensitive, shut down, over-react, avoid things I know might make me feel better, vent, forget all of the above.  That day, with some of my normal “de-stress” techniques off limits, I was finding it REALLY hard to even settle down and get through the day.

Later that night as I was drinking a cup of tea in a hot bath (after a vote from the family I decided this was allowed) I started thinking about things in a medical sense.  When you are physically hungry or not eating, your blood sugar can get low.  Symptoms of hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) are fatigue, confusion, dizziness, heaviness, anxiety, headaches and eventually unconciousness.  We are less able to cope with even simple or small thing/decisions and have trouble making simple choices.  When we are “hungry” we are less able to cope in general- we are more defensive, more insecure, more paranoid, more anxious, less patient, less calm, less peaceful.  And I started thinking about how all the people in the world- all of us- are “hungry” for something.  Some of “us” are truly hungry for food- even here in the United States.  Some are hungry for clean water, but also for safety, for security, for health, for wealth/money enough to live and money enough to live well.  People are hungry for physical touch, for assurance, for encouragment, hope, acceptance, sanity, friendship, love…the list goes on and on.  But the truth is, “hunger” or low amounts of any of these can cause the same symptoms as true hunger or low blood sugar.  How many people do we meet every day that are impatient? But maybe they are just hungry for time- to get home and be with their family.  What about the people that are slow and uncertain and unhelpful?  Maybe they are hungry for security, or friendship, or assurance.  What about those people who are just plain out mean?  Maybe they are hungry for health and safety for their children, for absence of pain for themselves, for a minute of peace in their life.  And then- what if we “fed” those people?  What if everyone was given what they needed for their particular “hunger”?  Whether it’s a hug, a kind word, a meal, a dollar, a word or action of forgiveness, a cup of water, a prayer, a shirt, an explanation- what if we all fed each other what we needed to be “full”.  Well, I don’t know what would happen, but I do know what happens when you give someone with low blood sugar/hunger what they need- sugar: they feel better.  And the great majority of the time they are thankful. Food for thought for sure.

Thank God, literally, WW #4 was quiet, uneventful and peaceful.  And somehow, month one is almost over and there are 48 Wednesdays to go in 2013. I’ll let you know how tomorrow goes!

2 thoughts on “Food for Thought (WW #3 and #4)

  1. Steph February 2, 2013 / 10:28 pm

    Just wanted you to know that I am learning a lot from what you’re learning 🙂 I love you, and I am looking forward to hearing about your trip to Guatemala!

    • cupsrunningover February 3, 2013 / 2:58 am

      Thanks Steph!! I always love to hear your thoughts which so often echo my own, heart sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

