MindLESSness vs MindFULLness (WW #5)

I spent last weekend on the amazingly beautiful Orcas Island where I ran in the Orcas Island 25K trail race put on by the creator of Rainshadow Running. It was simultaneously one of the hardest things I’ve ever done and one of the most beautiful races I’ve ever run all wrapped up in a perfect weekend in a cabin at Doebay Resort, arrangements courtesy of my super-organized and fellow “moment appreciator” Pam. I had some time to think and breathe while driving to and from the Island, and of course while running (you can see the inspiration below). It was truly 2 days of intense “mindFULLness”.
20130202-142440.jpg
20130202-142417.jpg
20130202-142433.jpg
Then it was back to work for 4 days intermixed with unpacking, repacking, recovering from the intense physical exercise, being on call at work, bad news related to work/military life (no deployments but I’m not quite ready to talk more about this yet- more soon), keeping up with friends, family and my husband (who often quietly plays video games through my intense frenzy (?lunacy?) when I get overstressed). WW #5 came and went and it was a quieter day than Tuesday and Thursday and I was able to focus many times on turning physical discomfort to appreciation/prayer for my three sponsored families and some friends going through hard times- so there was MindFULLness there. I spent much of Friday in a frenetic haze of checklists, tasks, worry, rushing, work and racing thoughts- essentially a place of mindLESSness as I couldn’t tell you much of anything I did during that time between waking up and getting dropped off at the airport…which leads me to the next “event”:
I’m going to Guatemala. Like, now. (not sure if I’ll even be able to post this before I go). If you are thinking “I didn’t know she was going to Guatemala” well, don’t take it personal, b/c I didn’t know either until about a month ago, and even then it was somewhat uncertain, unplanned and out of my control. It all started a year or two ago when I decided I might not want to be a doctor anymore and I wanted life to be simpler and my Dad (twitter @dowford who incidentally is my favorite writer of all time) forwarded me a blog from a guy named Leo Babauta from his zenhabits site, which somehow through some linking led me to this guy Jeff Goins who wrote a book called “Wrecked” about, well, getting Wrecked and he invited me to go to Guatemala (well he invited a lot of people, but after I wrote him and then sort of “let it go”, he wrote me back and invited me so I said “why not”) and I’m now sitting in the Miami airport. It’s a long story and I’ll write more about this specifically soon, but suffice it to say, it will hopefully be a time of MindFULLness, both now, and for the future. You can follow us here if you want:
http://goinswriter.com/guatemala-vision-trip/
Twitter: #wreckguate
and I’d sure appreciate some prayers for safe traveling, and an open and mindFULL heart and mind and for physical health/issues to not complicate the trip. I don’t know a single soul going, but I sure am excited about what promises at least to be one of the craziest things I’ve (willingly) done.
So- WW#5 lesson is one I know I need to continue to work on- being mindFULL, having my mind FULLY IN the moment- whatever/wherever that is. Honestly, I am about 99% better at this than I was at any other time in my life but all the THINGS and THOUGHTS pulling at me constantly are always threatening to make me jump back into MindLESSness that is the opposite of that peaceful/simple life I’m after. I’m wondering if this resonates with anyone? If so- I’d love to hear your thoughts- what do you do to stay MindFULL of the moments you are in? Is it possible? Do you notice when you slip out of that or only afterwards?
Ok- off to meet my new friends…and spend some mindFULL moments in Guatemala.

5 thoughts on “MindLESSness vs MindFULLness (WW #5)

  1. April February 3, 2013 / 4:20 pm

    Yes!! Love you and praying you have an AWESOME time!! Yes, I get you about being FULLY in the moment. Since giving up Facebook and not taking my phone EVERY where I’m noticing how much I missed. How sometimes I didn’t/don’t give my spouse, kids, friends/family my FULL attention. God’s really been pricking my heart about this: SIMPLIFY and enjoy EACH moment–live it out!

  2. Stephanie R February 4, 2013 / 11:58 pm

    Can I like April’s comment above? πŸ™‚ Also, I’m praying for you and hoping to hear updates if you are able.

  3. lexiedache March 20, 2013 / 2:43 am

    Wow – that race sounds awesome! And so cool you got to go with Jeff to Guatemala… Heard great things about that trip! (From stalking his blog and others haha)

    • Dawn Muench March 20, 2013 / 7:39 am

      It WAS amazing, as is all running in this part of the country- I think I saw you are a runner too, with an “ultra” on your bucket lit? If you are ever this way- let me know- I’m planning my first 50K in the fall πŸ™‚ Oh yes..Guatemala…that was pretty quietly life-changing! Love love love your blog πŸ™‚

      • lexiedache March 22, 2013 / 8:14 am

        Oh yay! I’m running my first 50k in April… Scary πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

