October Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my journal)

Happy Sunday!  So here they are; three days late but I’m going with the “better late than never” take on life these days.  (If you missed my first post, explaining this recurring post, you can check it out here).

On this first Sunday morning of November, the month of Thankfulness, it jumped out at me  that many of the quotes have a theme of gratitude that was totally unintended and unnoticed before I was typing them all out together from the varied sources they were saved from.  An interesting and appropriate theme I’d say.

I hope one of the quotes below is meaningful to you as you read through them- I am grateful to have you to share them with!

Give thanks for unknown blessings already on their way.
Native American saying

The greatest poems have been made by men who valued something else much more than poetry.         CS Lewis

We cannot do everything at once, but we can do something at once.
Calvin Coolidge

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.  Let me earn from you, love you, bless you before you depart.  Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.
Mary Jean Irion

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.  So throw off the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.  Explore.  Dream.  Discover.
Mark Twain

Great writing (and all great art) exists because there is a world not created by the writer.
CS Lewis

Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
Winston Churchill

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.  You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror.  I can take the next thing that comes along.’….You must do the thing you think you cannot do.
Eleanor Roosevelt

In character, in manner, in style, in all things, the Supreme excellence is simplicity.
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

When I despair, I remember that all through history, the way of truth and love has always won.  There have been murderers and tyrants, and for a time they can seem invincible.  But in the end, they always fall.  Think of it- always.
Mahatma Gandhi

To enjoy your work and accept your lot in life- that is indeed a gift from God.  People who do this rarely look with sorrow on the past for God has given them reasons for joy.
Ecclesiastes 5:19b-20 (NLT)

Fear is the parent of cruelty.
James Anthony Fronde

….This means living the realities of our lives in the light of the vision until the truth of the vision is actually realized in us.
Oswald Chambers, 4 Oct My Utmost for His highest

His instruments have no consciousness of His purpose; if they imagine they have, it is a pretty sure token that they are NOT His instruments
Nathaniel Hawthorne

The man who offers an insult writes it in sand, but for the man who receives it, it’s chiseled in bronze.
Giovannino Guareschi

Blessings brighten when we count them.
Maltbie D. Babcock

If you want to go fast, go alone.  If you want to go far, go together.
African proverb

How much time he saves who does not look to see what his neighbor says or does or thinks.
Marcus Aurelius

No matter how bad I feel a race or run went, there is always a part of running where I am smiling from ear to ear.  If running can keep me smiling like that it will always be a part of my life.
Ali Tremaine

Lord, set up a guar for my mouth, keep watch at the door of my lips.
Psalms 141:3

Every saint has a past and every sinner a future.
Oscar Wilde

People of character do the right thing- not to “change the world” but because they refuse to be changed BY the world.
Michael Josephson

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed and some few to be chewed and digested.
Francis Bacon

Be bold in what you stand for and careful what you fall for.
Ruth Boorstin

God is not an inconvenience and His opportunities are not an inconvenience.
Angela Aston

….an impulsive adult is always a spoiled person.  Impulsiveness needs to be trained into intuition through discipline….
Oswald Chambers

In the heat of the moment, things don’t just “slip out”.  In the heat of the moment you say what you REALLY mean.
Judah Smith (Women of Faith, Sacramento)

Goodness is, so to speak, itself: badness is only spoiled goodness.
CS Lewis

A life spent loving…..is a life well spent.
Suzanne Clothier

Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity or registering wrongs.
Jane Austen (Helen, Jane Eyre)

When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so.  Now that I am fifty, I read them openly.
CS Lewis

One of the things I’ve learned as an adult is that conflict is inevitable, but bitterness and divisiveness is a choice.
Laura Crosby

Truth is eternal, knowledge is changeable.  It is disastrous to confuse them.
Madeleine L’Engle

Everyone thinks of changing the world but no one thinks of changing himself.
Leo Tolstoy

Sometimes He sends us ahead, knowing the storm to come because it is in the storms that we learn most about the character of God.  Sometimes Jesus comes and the storm continues, but the difference is He is with us.  Then, eventually He says “Peace, be still” and the storm subsides.
Natalie Grant (Women of Faith, Sacramento)

“Who owns the patent on this vaccine”?  Journalist Ed Murrow
“Well, the people, I would say.  There is no patent.  Could you patent the sun”?  Jonas Salk (polio vaccine)

There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.
Edith Wharton

It is out of the brokenness that he works and blesses most; it is from the broken places that He ALWAYS works best.
Christine Caine (Women of Faith, Sacramento)

Children think not of what is past, nor what is to come, but enjoy the present time, which few of us do.
Jean de la Bruyere

We seldom think of what we have but always of what we lack.
Schopenhauer

What we hope ever to do with ease, we must learn first to do with diligence.
Samuel Johnson

If better were within, better would come out.
Simon Patrick

It is ingrained in us that we have to do exceptional things for God- but we do not.  We have to be exceptional in the ordinary things of life and holy on the ordinary streets, among ordinary people- and this is not learned in 5 minutes.
Oswald Chambers

I do not understand the mystery of grace- only that it meets us where we are and does not leave us where it found us.
Annie Lamott

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.
JRR Tolkien (Gandolf, Lord of the Rings)

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life.  It turns what we have into enough, and more.
Melody Beattie

A Franciscan Benediction:
May God bless you with discomfort
At easy answers, half-truths and superficial relationships
So that you may live deep within your heart.

May God bless you with anger
At injustice, oppression and exploitation of people
So that you may work for justice, freedom and peace

May God bless you with tears
To shed for those who suffer pain, rejection, hunger and war,
So that you may reach out your hand to comfort them and to turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless you with enough foolishness
To believe that you can make a difference in the world
So that you can do what others claim cannot be done
To bring justice and kindness to all our children and the poor.

Amen.

6 thoughts on “October Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my journal)

  1. grettabenefield November 3, 2013 / 12:51 pm

    Love it!

    “For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.”

    • Dawn Muench November 19, 2013 / 4:22 pm

      Thanks! words are so encouraging don’t you think?! 🙂

  2. Rachel Stankowski November 4, 2013 / 8:33 am

    Clearly, you surround yourself with people who SAY beautiful things and WRITE beautiful things! You clearly work hard to surround yourself with positive people in every sphere of interest and that’s really awesome– you inspire me and make me want to quote YOU! (I especially love the Gandhi one– truth and love ALWAYS wins, and thank God for that!)

    • Dawn Muench November 5, 2013 / 6:50 am

      Yes I LOVE that one too. I was going to put little stars or something by my favorite favorites but that just was silly 🙂 I get the quotes from all kinds of sources and they definitely keep me remembering to focus on the positive, esp on the days when I might need that reminder 🙂

  3. Susan Stilwell November 19, 2013 / 12:04 pm

    I’m bookmarking this and tweeting from it for the next month! SO many good quotes, Dawn! You could fill and entire journal with them! One of my favorites: “How much time he saves who does not look to see what his neighbor says or does or thinks. Marcus Aurelius”
    AMEN. Hope to see your sleepy smiley face on Friday!

    • Dawn Muench November 19, 2013 / 4:20 pm

      I know right- so many good words out there…I may have filled up many journals with them!! So good to “see” you back- hope your trip was amazing! See you Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

