November Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my Journal)

It’s here!  It’s here!  The reason I start getting excited on January 1st: Christmas is coming!

Our tree is up and lights are twinkling and it took all I had to dig out from under the comfy afghan in front of the fireplace (where I was just finishing up the latest Sue Grafton novel- she’s up to W and I may cry when I close the book on “Z”) to finish up this post and send it along to you.  (I’ve decided a month’s worth of quotes can be sent no later than the first day of the next month- arbitrary rule but seems reasonable, right?).

As we head into this beautiful, magical, peaceful month of people, parties, gratitude and yes gifts I want to take this sentence to again express the overwhelming gratitude that is left over from this last week of November.  For family and friends and food and faith and fall and festivities to come.

photo 3
Beautiful Thanksgiving feast shared with heart family if not blood 🙂

I hope that you are able to find a few words below that resonate with your heart, mind, thoughts, life or hopes.  The words are pulled from a variety of places and people and if you see one you shared on social media or sent me in some form, thank you for your contribution!

In barely contained excitement for the month to come, I share with you my November Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my Journal).  (If you want to hear the backstory, and why it’s all Stephanie’s fault, check it out here!)

photo 1
Perfectly Perfect Birthday gift from Ballerina Sister, mother of Victorian era-soul Niece

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life.  It turns what we have into enough, and more.
Melody Beattie

Life is an adventure in forgiveness.
Norman Cousins

He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.
Martin Luther King, Jr

It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.
Oscar Wilde

Arrears of small things to be attended to, if allowed to accumulate, worry and depress like unpaid debts.  The main work should always stand aside for these, not these for the main work, as large debts should stand aside for small ones, or truth for common charity and good feeling.  If we attend continually and promptly to the little that we can do, we shall ere long be surprised to find how little remains that we cannot do.
Samuel Butler

Often it is only in great pain that you can experience joy.  The greater the joy, the greater is the pain that precedes it.
Mark Toone

“A person with no arms trying to punch themselves until their arms grow back” may be the best description I’ve ever read of what it feels like for a depressed person to try to cheer herself up.
Tullian Tchividjian

Your assumptions are your windows on the world.  Scrub them off every once in a while, or the light won’t come in.
Alan Alda

To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.
Bertrand Russell

Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty in every age of life never really grows old.
Frank Kafka

We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.
Anaiis Nin

The world is not our enemy and the gospel doesn’t need defenders, it needs representatives.
Jen Hatmaker

I have decided to stick with love.  Hate is too great a burden to bear.  Martin Luther King Jr

If there isn’t enough room in your dream for other people, then it’s not nearly big enough.
Jeff Goins

When words are ransacked of meaning and replaced with concepts less distinct [emoticons], we ourselves become something less distinct.
Jill Carattini (A Slice of Infinity, RZIM)

Abundance is not something we acquire.  It is something we tune into.
Wayne Dyer

Each day running requires that I inhabit my body as completely as possible, surrender to change, and let that process work on me until I am not the tired and often dispirited female who leave the house, but the one who returns enlivened, cheeks aflame, her mind swept clear as a Zen garden.
Allison Townsend

Whoever is kind to the poor, lends to the Lord and He will reward them for what they have done.
Proverbs 19:17

A smile is the chosen vehicle of all ambiguities.
Herman Melville

How far you go in life depends on you being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and the strong.  Because someday in life you will have been all of these.
George Washington Carver

Some people believe that holding on and hanging in there are signs of great strength.  However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.
Ann Landers

A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will  be refreshed.
Proverbs 11:25

At times our own light goes out, and it is rekindled by a spark from another person.  Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.
Albert Schweitzer

Live, then and be happy, beloved children of my heart, and never forget that until the day when God shall deign to reveal the future to man, all human wisdom is summed up in these two words- ‘wait’ and ‘hope’.  Your friend, Edmond Dantes, Count of Monte Cristo
Alexandre Dumas

We have a choice every day with the words we give to other people.  We can use our words to breathe life into another person or we can use our words to suck the life right out of them.
Lisa Terkeurst

Living and writing- we need them both; one to inspire us to write, and the other to remind us why.
Jeff Goins

Love has no guarantees.  Love calls someone to commit to another regardless of the cost, potential danger, or possibility of hurt.  God loves, knowing that He is taking the risk that His love will not always be returned.  Love cannot be controlling or manipulating.  Love is freeing, allowing the other party to choose how they will respond to love.  This means that those who love run the risk of being hurt.  The more one loves, the more hurt he will experience.
Scott Boren (The Relational Way)

Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.
Lucille Ball

I believe children learn kindness through kind treatment.  Generosity through blessing.  Selflessness through servitude.  They grow into loving people by virtue of being loved first.
Kristen Armstrong

2 thoughts on “November Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my Journal)

  1. Rachel Stankowski December 1, 2013 / 9:06 pm

    I love that you quoted George Washington Carver– I became obsessed with him and with peanut butter when I was little (like maybe 8) and still think he’s one of the most fascinating people ever!

    As usual, so many beautiful, beautiful words!

    • Dawn Muench December 2, 2013 / 11:14 am

      Ha- of course I love him too 🙂 I did a book report on him in 5th grade that I can still see the cover of 🙂

Leave a Reply

