An Amazing Average Post: Alexa Martin

Happy 2014 friends!

I’m so excited about this post- the next post in my Amazing Average People series.   (If you have no idea what I am talking about, just click here and here and you’ll be caught up in no time).

One of my biggest passions and happiness-bringers is supporting small business owners, friends and family (whether in blood or virtual/digital form) and “average” people who are doing AMAZING things.  As I began working on this series that would not get off my mind and heart, I wondered if it would connect with others-if I’d be able to share the amazing-ness of these people I’m going to tell you about one by one.  I was so so excited to see that, based on the amount of responses, texts, calls, messages and emails I received, it seems to have done just that!  So thank you “readers” for reminding me how blessed I am to have such giving and passionate friends and family.  I am grateful for you.

I’m going to keep my post today short, because I want to send you right over to the website (Dirty Girls Trail Runners) of the subject of this post: my running coach, but more importantly my friend, Alexa Martin.  If you know her, you already know most of what I could tell you, and if you don’t, well, I’m sorry, because she is one pretty amazing person.  (If you know her, you also know that I did NOT tell her I was writing this post, because she would have found some way to stop me- ha!  Too bad Alexa- I’m pretty sneaky when I wanna be!).

Image
Sun Mountain 25K 2013

Alexa is one of those people that just makes you instantly feel welcome, safe, normal, cherished, important and capable right from the minute you meet her.  She’s compassionate, she’s funny- (impish even maybe at times?), she’s flexible, she’s giving and she’s a brilliant coach and runner who gives more than sometimes seems possible to other people.  I have watched, first myself, and then others, be transformed physically, mentally and emotionally by joining her classes and the amazing running community here in our town that she has helped shape and energize.  While teaching you how to improve form and technique and ability as well as any coach I’ve ever known or seen, more importantly, she teaches you personal lessons about strength and courage and endurance and kindness to yourself and others that have the ability to transform you entirely.  In light of my new, more focused focus on the importance of using our words well, Alexa is one person who is constantly reinforcing this lesson to us all as regards the way we talk to one of the most important people in our lives: ourselves.  There is no price tag on these types of lessons and I am so grateful to be learning from her.

I’m so excited to tell you that I’m going to be helping spread some of her coaching tips and wisdom to you in the coming weeks and months.  We’ll be adding a section to her website where you can find her tried and true advice for whatever your question, problem, struggle or new challenge or goal is.

In addition, I am so grateful to be writing on a new blog on her website Run For Your LIfe, where we’ll be discussing all the different ways that Running (exercise) is good for your health- be it physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, relational or any other aspect of health.  I hope you’ll take a minute to click on over and read the introductory post (click here) where I explain how in the heck I came to love something so much that I spent the first 34 years of my life in complete hatred of.  Even if you HATE to run, and actually ESPECIALLY if you abhor running, I hope you’ll take the time to at least skim through it because you might be surprised to hear my story.

I hope that you have an “Alexa” in your life, or maybe you are one yourself.  In honor of celebrating Amazing Average people everywhere, why not take 5 minutes today to tell “her” thanks or do something special to show “her” (or yourself) that she is making a difference in the world.  (And then go check out the new blog at the link…this one…here!)

One thought on “An Amazing Average Post: Alexa Martin

Leave a Reply

