September/October Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my Journal)

It’s Fall Ya’ll!

While it seems to have taken an extra-long time to make it here wherever we may live (not that I’m complaining), I think we can all agree that Fall has arrived!  As I’m writing this, it’s dark already at a time when that still seems strange to me, even after five years in Washington now.  However, pumpkins, decorations and darkness (and rain!) it is, and I for one am extremely excited!  I’ve had an amazing two months of travel, adventure, challenges and fun; I’ve seen friends and family and spent time in hotels, homes and airplanes.  But the truth is, we are heading into my absolute favorite time of the year.  Wherever you are and whatever life looks for you right now, my hope is that you feel a little tiny glimmer (or a great big wave) of peace and gratitude and excitement about something that’s within or ahead.   For me, words like these below always help me find those feelings, so here’s to hoping some of these words make your heart a little happier!

Beautiful, peaceful fall
Beautiful, peaceful fall

Critical to the formation of children and young people is the affirmation of their capacity to think deeply and to engage truth.
Gordon T Smith

You are only one decision away from a totally different life.
Mark Batterson, Sole Fide

Believe you can and you’re halfway there.
Theodore Roosevelt

A hero is one who knows how to hang on one minute longer.
Novalis

No matter how busy you are, you must take time to make the other person feel important.
Mary Kay Ash

Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.
George Bernard Shaw

It’s better to be at the bottom of the ladder you want to climb than at the top of one you don’t.
Stephen Kellogg

There is no greatness where there is not simplicity, goodness and truth.
Leo Tolstoy

I must govern the clock- not be governed by it.
Golda Meir

If you run, you are a runner.  It doesn’t matter how fast or how far.  It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years.  There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get.  You just run.
John Bingham

Talent is God-given; be humble.
Fame is man-given; be thankful.
Conceit is self-given; be careful.
John Wooden

From what we get, we can make a living; what we give however, makes a life.
Arthur Ashe

Look for a way to lift someone up.  If that’s all you do, it’s enough.
Elizabeth Lesser

If you have never said “Excuse me” to a parking meter or bashed your shins on a fireplug, you are probably wasting too much valuable reading time.
Sherri Chasin Calvo

People are like stained-glass windows.  They sparkle and shine when the sun is out but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.
Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

With the proper motivation, that is, a good reason for wanting to do it, your mind can overcome any sort of adversity.
Franz Stampfl

Like a cool drink of water when you’re worn out and weary is a letter from a long-lost friend.
Proverbs 25:25 The MSG

Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.
David Frost

Kindness is in our power, even when fondness is not.
Samuel Johnson

Everything changed the day that I understood that if I was to become a runner, I would have to run with the body I had.
John Bingham

It’s not what you look at that matters it’s what you see.
Henry David Thoreau

True happiness is to enjoy the present without anxious dependence upon the future.
Seneca

Sometimes you have to step outside of the person you’ve been, and remember the person you were meant to be, the person you wanted to be, the person you are.
H.G. Wells

Every adversity, every failure, every heartache carries with it the seed of an equal or greater benefit.
Napoleon Hill

When you first get a hill in sight, look at the top of it only once.  Then imagine yourself at the bottom of the other side.
Florence Griffith Joyner

What is now proved was once only imagined.
William Blake

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library.
Jorge Luis Borges

In a world full of fugitives, the person taking the opposite direction will appear to run away.
T.S. Elliot

Life can pull you down, but running always lifts you up.
Jenny Hadfield

One must never be either content with, or impatient with, oneself.
C.S. Lewis

Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs.
Charlotte Bronte

Failure after long perseverance is much grander than never to have a striving good enough to be called a failure.
George Eliot

Whatever attitude we bring (to a situation) will be multiplied.
Lysa Terkeurst

If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you are a leader.
John Quincy Adams

I am who I am today because of the choices I made yesterday.
Eleanor Roosevelt

May your choices reflect your hopes.  Not your fears.
Nelson Mandela

We have committed the Golden Rule to memory; let us now commit it to life.
Edwin Markham

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.
Maria Robinson

For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my life would I want to do what I am about to do today?”  And whenever the answer has been “no” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.
Steve Jobs

Happiness is like a butterfly: the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder.
Henry David Thoreau

The real art of conversation is not only to say the right thing in the right place but to leave unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.
Lady Dorothy Nevill

The measure of who we are is what we do with what we have.
Vince Lombardi

True life is lived when tiny changes occur.
Leo Tolstoy

Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for a kindness.
Seneca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “September/October Words I Wish I Wrote that I Wrote Down (in my Journal)

  1. Rachel Stankowski November 3, 2014 / 8:41 pm

    Every single quote you pick out every month always speaks to me– I love that!

Leave a Reply

